Skip to content

Connection

April 24, 2011

Saturday was an incredibly full day.  It began with breakfast at one of our “regular” places.  I ordered what I “usually” order.  Later that morning I sat in a church sanctuary, celebrating the life of a longtime friend who finished her race in this life and crossed over into eternity. There was wonderful “catch up” conversation with a friend over a lunch that extended into the afternoon.  Then the spontaneous decision to drive to another town to catch the play “Dirty Rotten Scoundrels”, and finally back home to crash on the couch with a dog who thinks I hung the moon.

As I snuggled with the dog I replayed the day.  Not just the time spent, but the emotions felt.  I thought about the gift of connection. In the course of my day I had experienced…

  • the connection and comfort of routine.  Those things we do over and over, day in and day out, that ground us in the familiar.
  • the connection of remembering and celebrating one who enriched and changed us in this life on her way to the next.
  • the connection of friendship, of shared space and conversation that warms like an old flannel shirt.
  • the connection of laughter as I joined a community of strangers to watch a play.
  • the connection of a pet who loves me without judgement or hesitation.

Resting there on the couch I felt profoundly thankful for the connections of the day.  I was glad to be reminded of the connections across the years and the ways they had challenged and sustained me.  I hoped to step into the week ahead more mindful of the space we share and our impact, for good or bad, on each other.

And then Tuesday came.  April 19.  The sixteenth anniversary of the bombing of the Murrah Building in Oklahoma City.  Tuesday came and reminded me of the powerful connection of shared experience. If you were living in Oklahoma on April 19, 1995, you probably remember where you were and what you were doing at 9:02 when the Murrah Federal Building was bombed.  Shared experience invites us to rise above what separates us.  On April 19, 1995, an act intended to destroy led us to common ground and gave us a reason to connect.  We connected then to rescue, to grieve, to grow, and eventually to celebrate our resilience.

Celebrate connection!   The small and the large of it.  The quiet and the loud of it.  The joy, and even the pain of it.  Most of all celebrate the timing of it and choose to connect now, with family and friends, with occasional acquaintances, with total strangers.  Connect with those like you, and not, with God’s creatures, and with yourself.  Look for the “tie that binds” and just connect.

No comments yet

Please share your thoughts...

