Skip to content

Blogging for Mental Health, 2012

February 8, 2012

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

I am happy to express a “Thank You” from the bottom of my heart to Jen at Step On A Crack… for passing the Blogging for Mental Health Pledge on to GrowthLines.  Jen is an insightful soul writing powerful and poetic thoughts about life as the child of an alcoholic mother, about losing too many too soon, about growing through the hard places.  She talks candidly about the ripple impact of Wernicke-Korsakoff; alcoholics dementia, on the alcoholic and their spouse, children, extended family, friends, and community.  In Jen’s words,

“This is a cautionary tale.  I hope it will be of help to those who live with alcoholics, are active alcoholics and those who are in recovery.”

It is a tale well worth reading.  Jen was courageous enough to start the conversation.  I hope you will drop by Step on a Crack, and join in.  Thank you, Jen

My Mental Health Map, Chapter One
Good News, Bad News

Two important characteristics of maps should be noticed. A map is not the territory it represents, but, if correct, it has a similar structure to the territory, which accounts for its usefulness. ~ Alfred Korzybski

Frankly I am struggling a bit with the idea of posting my “mental health” biography.  Not for reasons you might assume.  I’m not ashamed or incapacitated by my history, although I do have some regrets and scars due both to choices I made and things imposed on me by others.  No, my struggle has more to do with a) being a pretty introverted, private person, and b) the value I place on finding a balance between knowing I bring my “self” into the therapeutic relationship and knowing that “it’s not about me”.

I came out of childhood with an array of “good news, bad news”.  The bad news was attached to learning that life can hurt, disappoint, and change you.  I lost people close to me, discovered that grownups you trust aren’t always trustworthy, and had to face the outcome of foolish decisions.

The good news is that I experienced childhood surrounded by people who loved me.  I experienced the wisdom, love, nurture, and discipline from three generations of grandparents, parents, aunts and uncles. I had the luxury of celebrating childhood with cousins and close friends.  My childhood wasn’t idyllic.  It wasn’t awful.  It was a mixture, and I am still learning and being shaped by the whole of it.

My Mental Health Map, Chapter Two
Seeds, Earthquakes, and Rogue Waves 

I hope you will stop by later for “the rest of the story”.  The part I love to talk about.  I look forward to thinking out loud about the joy of being a part of the mental health community, of the ways my life has been enriched, of the continuing education I have received under the tutelage of clients and colleagues.  Another day, another conversation.

NOW, the fun part. I (we) get to ask five (5) other people to take the pledge for blogging for mental health.  Please join me in supporting and encouraging mental health by visiting these voices:

C PTSD – A Way Out

Our attitudes and daily effort will determine our misery or happiness going forward.  Healing is possible and likely if you do the work.  You have to believe you can heal and practice that belief daily.

Grief:  One Woman’s Perspective

Every person’s grief is unique. Every person – and their own “factors” –  are unique. Every factor plays a part in how a person grieves and how long it takes to integrate the loss into the fabric of life. Because we live in a society that is distanced from grief, it falls to the bereaved to teach others how to help. This is a daunting task, especially for a bereaved parent already dealing with so much.  This blog is written using selected journal entries I have written since March 2002. My only goal is to give some insight of what it’s like to be on this side of the fence. I hope in some measure it can be of some help.

 The Better Man Project

The world needs better men. This blog is simply my journey to becoming a better man every day and the lessons I learn along the way.

understandingthepast
The beginning of my mother’s ending

Good Life

Like a compass needle slamming from South to North! My life was eventually turned from disaster and depression to hope and gratitude! I only look back in order to remember how difficult it is to find serenity and direction when first sober.


The rules of the pledge are:

1) Take the pledge by copy and pasting the following into a post featuring Blog for Mental Health 2012

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.


9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 3:50 pm

    congratulations on your award!
    My love to all the wounded healers in our midst. My deepest desire is that we can end the stigma placed upon “being wounded”. We are human. And we bleed.

    • February 8, 2012 9:43 pm

      Thank you, Patrice. Your words remind me of the value of shared wounds. Sometimes that means shared stories. Sometimes it means acknowledging the existence and the impact of the untold, unseen wounds. I share your desire to end the stigma that is perpetuated when we label and categorize any human being as other. Thank you again for your thoughts. You always give me more to “chew” on. 🙂

  2. February 8, 2012 11:45 pm

    Paulann, you have been a guiding light and a heart wisewoman as I slog/blog through.

    You are an extraordinary woman.

    You are a blessing in my life.

    XO Jen

    • February 10, 2012 12:15 am

      Thanks, Jen! You are doing a great job of “slog/blog”-ing your way through.

  3. February 10, 2012 9:36 am

    I am honored to be recognized by you Pualann and be noticed for supporting mental health.

    There is a sense of community among us that is surprising and beautiful. We all have different paths and ways to take action, however our goals to support others is shared.

    It is a honor to be considered helpful and relevant in our blog pursuits. My blog and writing seem to have a mind of their own, now. My blog has taken me to places and people, never imaging the scope of influence we have with this medium.

    Marty

    • February 11, 2012 10:01 pm

      Thanks, Marty. I’m happy to know others will find their way to C PTSD – A Way Out.

  4. February 25, 2012 2:43 am

    Thank you for carrying this project on. It really means the world to me.

    • February 25, 2012 11:38 pm

      Your welcome! I hope that we continue to move toward a better understanding of mental health in the years ahead. Thank you for taking the time to read the GrowthLines blog.

Please share your thoughts...

