Skip to content

The inconvenience of truth…

February 15, 2012

I do most of my radio story listening in the car.  I hear bite size sound spurts while going to and from work, running errands, or some other quick trip reason.  Sound bite stories can be frustrating if you want the whole story.  Sound bites stories can be great, if what you love is the seed they plant that sends your mind chasing after ideas.  One of my sound bite seeds came several months ago while listening to “The Takeaway” interview with Ted Danson.

The part I heard introduced me to Oceana: Our Endangered Oceans and What We Can Do To Save Them, a book co-authored by Danson.  I was listening,…sort of, knowing the story would be interrupted by me getting out of the car.  As I pulled into a parking place, I heard the host refer to Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth.  I was out of the car, but the seed of “an inconvenient truth” had been planted.  An inconvenient truth.  I began to think about the dilemma of what to do with truth that is inconvenient.  We’re used to hearing about the inconvenient truth of climate change and environmental concerns.  Are there other inconvenient truths?  What makes a truth inconvenient anyway?  That it’s difficult, or unpleasant?

That’s when it dawned on me that the main thing that makes a truth inconvenient, is that it is true.  That in fact, much of the truth that matters in this world is terribly inconvenient, and that it usually involves change.  A changing world.  Changes we need to make.  Accepting change in someone or something else.  Truth often asks us to take a stand, in spite of great cost. It doesn’t get much more inconvenient than that.  The possibilities are ever “changing”.  When I think about it,…

  • It’s inconvenient to discover the truth that being a parent means setting limits.
  • It’s inconvenient to balance the hard and soft jobs of parenting, when our kids think we’re great, and when they don’t like us.
  • It’s inconvenient that relationships stretch us, scrutinize us, call us to grow.
  • It’s inconvenient to do what we said we would do, to be who we said we would be.
  • It’s inconvenient to be criticized, sometimes for doing the right thing.
  • It’s inconvenient to look at the impact our choices have on other people, places, and things,… and perhaps redecide.

We can focus on avoiding and escaping these small and large inconveniences…but we can’t escape the fact that inconvenience doesn’t make truth any less true.  Anyway you spin it, truth can be real inconvenient.  What is the most inconvenient truth in your lesson plan today?

“Men stumble over the truth from time to time, but most pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing happened.” — Winston Churchill

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2012 9:59 pm

    God, spare me from picking myself up and dusting off your truth, no matter how hard I fall.

Please share your thoughts...

