Skip to content

The Lazy A

February 16, 2012

This old farm feels like a long lost friend

Oh! dear old barn, where my childish days
Were passed full oft, how I long to be
Only a child again, to play
Beneath thy roof with the old-time glee!

   From The Old Barn, by Mary Dow Brine (1816-1913)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 10:12 pm

    Love it! Wish I could! 😀
    Debbie

    • February 16, 2012 10:20 pm

      Thanks Debbie! I spent hour upon hour “growing up” in this barn. Sometimes I wish I could turn the clock back and step back into that space that felt like heart to me. Like home.

  2. February 16, 2012 11:20 pm

    OH! This reminds me of the land my husband grew up on! It is still in the family and is PRECIOUS

    This is HAPPY!!!

    XO Jen

    • February 16, 2012 11:58 pm

      That’s wonderful that your family still has the land! The barn was on my granddad’s 1000 acres, which had to be sold soon after he died. I think I’m still grieving that loss. There is something healing about open land. I do miss that old barn. Pictures of it make me smile, but also have a bittersweet tone.

  3. February 17, 2012 6:29 am

    Like Kavanaugh’s Where have you gone, little boy. Why do we let go of that magic of youth .

  4. February 17, 2012 8:30 am

    it is funny, Paulann that before I healed stories of happy childhoods or remembrances like this brought a feeling of loss. like friends with great childhoods that worry is foreign to them. life is expected and looks like it does turn out right for them.

    Now, I appreciate hearing stories and warm memories.

    I have no loss now, just appreciation for my life and freed I’m others. Discovering our inner world and doing the work to heal grants us our own miracle.

    I enjoy watching you roll in that security of warmth you fondly remember.

    • February 17, 2012 9:36 am

      There are places that house our memories. Some were given to us, some we found, some we created inside ourselves in space and time. I think they often hold us through childhood wounds. As adults I think they help us heal when we return to, even if only in our hearts. My granddad’s barn definitely offered me a place of security and warmth, of hope and possibility. A place to dream big. Thank you for stopping by.

  5. Carol Wiebe permalink
    February 17, 2012 4:46 pm

    I often visited the farms my aunts and uncles had in Saskatchewan, when I was a girl. A certain barn smell wafted through as I first glanced at that picture!

    • February 20, 2012 9:35 pm

      I’m glad I could bring you back to a childhood experience. Our sensory history is an amazing thing. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  6. February 18, 2012 9:37 pm

    I love all barns and windmills.. all nostalgic from the century farm of NE Iowa where I spent a lot of MY youth with grandma and grandpa and cousins.

    And you’re right. Healing from childhood wounds, indeed. More things we share.

    Thanks for this. I AM country, from the get-go!

    I’m sitting in Houston in a motel and thinking of driving my dually on the 6 lanes (one direction!) of interstate tomorrow as we take Debbie’s son to the airport in the morning. I’m more at home with the critters, I guess.

    Still remember sitting in the haymow with kittens so fresh they didn’t have eyes yet! Thanks for the picture again!

    • February 20, 2012 9:38 pm

      Isn’t it interesting what a “common denominator” barns are, connecting an country of diversity. I’m glad I could provide you with a little country in the midst of that one way 6 lane highway!

  7. February 19, 2012 4:19 pm

    I am here to spread some Blog Sunshine Karma!
    I nominate you for the Sunshine Award!
    See
    http://steponacrack.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/the-sunshine-award/
    for details…
    XO Jen

    • February 20, 2012 9:42 pm

      Thank you Jen! I will check out the details, and will do my best to continue the “sunshine”.

Please share your thoughts...

