Skip to content

I went to their resting place,…

February 27, 2012

Carol at Carol Wiebe Wonders Out Loud, asked me not long ago if I ever wrote poetry.  I told her I did occasionally.  So Carol, here is one from a long time back.  I chose to post it now to add to the ongoing conversation about loss and grief.  Thanks for asking, Carol.  I look forward to seeing where your thoughts on shared mourning “artfully” take you.

 

Shared Mourning

Not planning to go, but
Drawn there just the same
I went to their
Resting place, and
You stayed by me.

I walked among grey stones
Under grey skies leaving my
Burden in shallow graves of
Sunken footsteps in the
Rain soaked ground, and
You walked with me.

Their stories came not in the
Rushing torrent of new grief but
Slowly, gently, quietly as a
Stream, small but sure, flows
Always toward its rest; I
Spoke with quiet grief, and
You heard me.

Silence settled softly on me,
Around me, with gentle tears
Raining down from grieving sky.
My sorrow cradled in your eyes, I
Remembered those who sleep.
You held my silence.

Shoulders touching, we sat each
Alone, yet bound by strong,
Unspoken words of grief and
Joy for those we love.
Comfort came in our shared mourning.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 6:27 am

    And when you do you make mountains sing… Grief and loss are such powerful emotions for us. In most Western faiths we are given little comfort in the beyond. This poem gives comfort to the present and that is truly all we ever can keep…

    • February 28, 2012 8:02 am

      Yes, powerful,…and so fluid they sometimes seem to cover everything. I agree that Western religion has not been as fluid as might be helpful at times in navigating these waters.

      Those that have gone ahead might say we “make mountains sing” when we cross over into beyond. Thank you for reading, reflecting, and speaking.

      • February 28, 2012 8:24 am

        From what I have read if we are prepared to accept it then it is … often we make our own hell, both on Earth and in the hereafter …

  2. Carol Wiebe permalink
    February 28, 2012 8:24 am

    Paulann, this is such a sensitive, caring and powerfulo poem. Thank you for gifting it to your readers.

    I am so glad I asked . . . .

    • February 29, 2012 12:43 am

      Thank you, Carol. I’m really glad you asked too. One of the pieces of being an introvert I guess. Waiting until someone suggests or invites before taking the step to “go public” with something. 🙂

  3. February 28, 2012 6:02 pm

    Beautiful!

  4. March 1, 2012 1:05 pm

    “Comfort came in our shared mourning.”

    Paulann, this is beautiful!

    You are a poet!

    I love this and it made me sad. I do not have a place to visit and this make me ponder if perhaps I need a place to visit.

    I hope you know that you are there with me always on my Grief Walk. I am eternally grateful to you for being here.

    XO Jen

    • March 1, 2012 4:08 pm

      Thank you, Jen! I would like to be a poet, I think. More often than not, it seems like the poem just allows me to be its scribe. However that works, it often feels like the partnership transcends anything I could bring to the table alone.

      Place may not be important to some, but it certainly has a hold on me. I have to say, in the case of death, it is seldom the gravesite. A visit to my paternal grandfather’s grave “wrote” this poem, but the “places” about him I cherish aren’t there. They are places and things like his barn. And his lariat, spurs, and branding iron that “live” with me.

      I think even when it feels solitary, this road of grief is awfully broad, maybe even crowded.
      ~ Paulann 🙂

      • March 3, 2012 12:12 am

        Paulann,

        You are a poet. It shows in all of your writing. Many of your comments on my blog are Poem Bones They just are….

        Place…

        You are right. I have my parents ashes here in the Man Cave. I am on the couch and they are here. We have Place.

        Thank you for reminding me of how large space in the heart is…

        always you remind me…

        XO Jen

        • March 5, 2012 11:01 pm

          I love the idea of Poem Bones, Jen. I frequently see a word, phrase, or thought somewhere that I think of as seeds or bones for writing. Also reminded me of the book, “Writing Down the Bones”.

          I love the image of you and your parents in your “place” in the man cave!

  5. March 2, 2012 1:35 am

    Paulann – You can’t imagine how timely was for me. So very beautiful. Thank you!
    Debbie

    • March 5, 2012 11:12 pm

      You’re welcome, Debbie. It’s a wonderful thing when words shared by one are meaningful to someone else in ways the writer couldn’t have dreamed. The sum really is greater than the sum of its parts. Thanks for reading and commenting, Debbie.

  6. March 2, 2012 9:41 am

    You and Debbie are really on the same page again! Very interesting post. Thank you.

  7. March 5, 2012 12:13 am

    Hello there!

    I happily nominate you for the Beautiful Blogger Award!

    http://step-on-a-crack.com/2012/03/04/i-love-beautiful-bloggers/

    Yes I do!

    Peace, Jen

    • March 5, 2012 11:19 pm

      Thank you, Jen. You are so thoughtful, and I appreciate the gift. It may be awhile before I can complete the process. I’m having difficulty keeping up in the blogging world these days.

Please share your thoughts...

